Sharon Wekel

Sharon Wekel

Rupert runners celebrate season debut (Race Results)

The first race of the season is officially in the books for the Rupert Runners and it went without a hitch.

The first race of the season is officially in the books for the Rupert Runners and it went without a hitch.

“I think the race has been good. Everyone is enjoying themselves,” said Michelle Hearty, who organized the race along with Jessica Lindstrom.

Although the two had slight growing pains in the first race they’ve organized, it was a success.

“We definitely need to get more snacks and food next time,” Hearty said with a laugh.

The race was a half marathon, half marathon relay and an 8K.

Peter Furlong raced the fastest time of any marathoner on the day at 1:25.28. He led the male under 40 category, followed by Colin Scott (1:26.23) and James Clay (1:37.27)

In the male 40-49, Adam Brown took first (1:35.07) and Joe Pelletier placed second (1:43.30).

Brent Webb won the 50-59 male category (1:31.29), with Judd Rowse coming in second (1:48.03)

There was a tie for females under 40. Jessie Gibson and Erin Mutrie accepted their medal holding hands after crossing the finish line with a time of 1:50.47. Jamie Komadina came in just one second later, and Leigh-Anne Magnusson finished third (1:53.18).

In the female 40-49 division, Diane Furtado took home top honours (2:04.44) and Andrea Nelson came second (2:18.53.

In the half-marathon relay, there were male, female and mixed categories. In the male division, Derek Flynn and Tom Lee won (1:29.01), followed by Aaron Mallett and Jesse Newton (1:45.58), and John Dykeman and Gage Ladoucer (2:01.40).

For females, Samantha Kasdorf and Caitlin Dubiel placed first (1:41.24), Jenna Mayer and Hannah Davis came second (1:52.46), and Brenda Dowsett and Christy Lauzon finished third (1:59.29).

In the mixed division, Sean Carlson and Melissa Rektor raced to a first-place finish (1:45.20), followed by Martin Schouw and Carrie Coley (1:48.25), and Aiden Bremner and Michaela Yeo (1:51.21).

The 8K had the most categories. Moses Kama ran the fastest race at 33:24, winning the male 40-49 category. Jack Smith (37:42) and Doug Mackareth (41:24) rounded out the top three.

In the male under 40 division, Lum Nguyen finished first (34:00), coming in second was Spencer Schulte (34:01) and placing third was Frederick Hachkerick (35:11).

Tony Pace led the males 50-59 (41:47), Steve Wessel followed him (42:33) and Finn Conradsen came in third (43:18).

For males 60+, the results were Dale White (46:08), Jim Coelho (46:54) and John Croft (53:25).

In the female under 40 category, Stephanie McLean came first (38:48), followed by Rheannon Brooks (39:21) and Amanjot Gill (43:18).

Paula Marks paced the female 40-49 group (48:09), Shani Parnell came second (50:00) and Kerrie Kennedy placed third (54:58).

The final category was female 50-59. Gail Bennett won that title (41:26), followed by Kathy Murphy (43:50) and Jacqui Hodam (50:47).