Prince Rupert’s year in review: The year in sports

2013 was a busy year for Prince Rupert athletes. Below is highlights from the year in sports.


Rampage end season

The Prince Rupert Rampage finished off the 2012/2013 Central Interior Hockey League season in a with a shootout loss to the Omineca Ice on Jan. 19. The Rampage finished the season with 10 points, one behind the Houston Luckies for the final playoff spot.

Slubowski up for Hobey Baker

Prince Rupert’s Frank Slubowski was nominated for the Hobey Baker Award, the most prestigious award in National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) hockey. Slubowski, in his second year as the starting goaltender for the University of Western Michigan Broncos, placed sixth overall in fan voting.


Senior boys win zones

The Charles Hays Secondary School senior boys basketball teams earned their spot in the B.C. Championships in Kamloops after beating Smithers in the “AA” zones. The Rainmakers won all three games they played against their only other competitors, taking the first game of the zones 75-41, the second 61-56, and the final game 63-48.

PRMS boys basketball wins zones

The Prince Rupert Middle School boys basketball team won the zone championship banner for the second year in a row, beating Skeena in the finals 40-32.


Rainmakers compete at provincials

Three teams from Charles Hays Secondary School participated in provincials in March. The girls’ team weren’t so lucky in their games, losing all three they played, with the Junior Boys finishing in 19th place. The Senior Boys placed the highest of all, finishing in 15th place.

62nd annual Marine Bonspiel

Curlers from across the region participated in the 62nd annual Marine Bonspiel, the oldest curling event in Prince Rupert. Skip Ed Maskiewich and his team won the A-event over the Bultied rink. The B-event was taken by skip Chad Salenback and his team with a 7-4 win over the John Mullin rink. Skip John Kennedy and team won the C-event with an 8-3 win over the Yamamoto rink. In the D-event, Tracy Hittell skipped his rink to a 9-3 win over the Parker rink.


Rapids excel in Prince George

The Prince Rupert Amateur Swim Club sent 23 swimmers to the annual Dental Moose Meet in Prince George in April. The event brought together 260 swimmers from across Northern British Columbia to compete together as Points North, which defeated the hometown Barracudas 1810-1583.


Slubowski named Broncos MVP

Prince Rupert Minor Hockey product Frank Slubowski took home his second consecutive team MVP trophy from the Western Michigan University Broncos during the year-end gala in April. Slubowski finished the season with a record of 19-11-8 and improved his save percentage to .918.


Rapids dominate wrap-up meet

The Prince Rupert Amateur Swim Club took a top spot on the podium in every individual category at the wrap-up swim meet finale in June. The Rapids also grabbed the combined team gold picking up 1,220 points in comparison to the Kitimat Marlins’ total of 973.5, Terrace Blueback’s 475.5 and the 459 of Buckley Valley Otters.

Pettersen wins Jubilee

Terrace’s Aina Pettersen fended off soggy conditions and a late charge by Prince Rupert’s Rose Holkested to capture the Prince Rupert Ladies Jubilee. Pettersen shot a final round 86 to capture the tournament, while Holkested finished three back on her way to capturing the low net with a 36-hole total of 153.

Venman battles back to win Jubilee

Kitimat’s Dave Venman fought back from a three-stroke deficit to capture the Prince Rupert’s Men Jubilee Golf Tournament. Venman was three back of Prince Rupert’s Ian Robinson heading into the final 18 holes of the 54-hole tournament.

Holkestads win Vic Marion Seniors

Husband and wife Brian and Rose Holkestad both captured the Men’s and Women’s Vic Marion Senior Open titles. Brian’s win came after the last round against Cu Phan, who was unable to birdie the final hole giving Holkestad a one-stroke victory. Brian’s wife Rose was a first-time winner with a 36-hole total of 178.


Robinson wins third straight title

Ian Robinson won his third straight Prince Rupert Golf Course Men’s Club Championship after overcoming a six-shot deficit heading into the final round. After opening with a disappointing seven-over 77, Robinson fired a 72 on Sunday to defeat first round leader Rob McDonald.


Horcoff/Sundin top His and Hers

Cathy Horcoff and Sten Sundin dominated the field at the Prince Rupert Golf Club’s His and Hers tournament, carding an alternate-shot 75, seven better than the second place team of Audrey Bryar and Sandy Anderson. The duo of Mark and Carol Bryant, with a combined handicap of 24.5, signed off on a net 60.5 to capture the Low Net title.

Junior golf on the decline

The Junior Jubilee tournament was cancelled in 2013 as there were no entries. It was the first year there was no interest in the tournament.


Archers strike gold in Kamloops

Northwest athletes traveled to Kamloops for the 2013 BC Senior Games. Archery proved to be the strong suit for Prince Rupert athletes, with all but one of Prince Rupert’s seven medals being won in the sport.

Rampage host Challenge Cup

The Prince Rupert Rampage earned their way to the final of the 2013 Challenge Cup after beating Terrace 5-1. In the end, the Rampage were unable to overcome Smithers, losing the game 7-2.


Walters joins Golf Hall of Fame

Prince Rupert’s Lisa Walters was inducted into the B.C. Golf Hall of Fame at a ceremony at the Shaughnessy Golf and Country Club. Walters grew up in Prince Rupert, and won three consecutive B.C. Amateur Titles from1979 to 1983 and won the Itoki Hawaiian Open in February 1992, defending her title in 1993. Walters also took home her third LPGA championship in 1998 when she won the Oldsmobile Classic.


Rainmakers win zones

The Charles Hays Secondary School junior boys volleyball team were the 2013 Northwest Zone champions. The boys faced off against Smithers Secondary in the final of the tournament, beating the Gryphons in straight games. The Rainmakers won the first game 27-25, and the second 28-18.

Teams secure spots in ANBT

Six teams celebrated earning a spot in the 2014 All Native Basketball Tournament while competing in the Women’s and Senior divisions at the All Native Qualifying Tournament. The women’s team from Old Hazelton beat out all opponents to become the champions of their division. Along with Old Hazelton, Tofinoand Old Massett also qualified. On the men’s side of things, Kitamaat’s team beat out Lax Kw’alaams in the final, with Kispiox also earning a spot in this year’s All Native Tournament.

Be Among The First To Know

Sign up for a free account today, and receive top headlines in your inbox Monday to Saturday.

Sign Up with google Sign Up with facebook

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Reset your password

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

A link has been emailed to you - check your inbox.

Don't have an account? Click here to sign up