Luckies fold, only four teams make CIHL playoffs in 2014-15 season

League changes schedule to 16 games to account for the loss of the Houston squad

The Central Interior Hockey League (CIHL) has made some changes to its 2014-15 season and there are no more free passes to the playoffs.

Because of the Houston Luckies’ departure from the league in the upcoming campaign, the Prince Rupert Rampage will occupy one spot in a four-team West division vying for only two playoff spots.

“With the [Houston Forest Products] mill closing, [the team] couldn’t get a player commitment this year to field a team,” said CIHL president J.C. Brown last week.

After the league’s annual general meeting in late May, the now seven-team league will play in one overall division for the regular season but for the purposes of the playoffs, two spots are up for grabs between Rupert, the Terrace River Kings, the Smithers Steelheads and the Kitimat Ice Demons, and two spots can be taken between the eastern teams of the Williams Lake Stampeders, the Quesnel Kangaroos and the Lac La Hache Tomahawks.

The Luckies finished in last place in the West division in 2013-14 and won one game in their first-round playoff series with the Kangaroos before bowing out to them in three games.

“It’s a tougher go to make the playoffs this year so it’ll be interesting,” said Brown.

In addition to Houston’s subtraction, the league will now reduce the number of games for each team to 16 instead of the usual 18 to account for the loss of the Luckies.

As for the technical rules on the ice, there are no changes from last season.

“That stuff’s all per BC Hockey and sometimes as much as we want to change it, we can’t,” said Brown.

“It’s all governed by BC Hockey’s senior men’s rules.”


Just Posted

City of Prince Rupert foots the bill for armed RCMP officers at Alaska ferry terminal, two trips scheduled

Two temporary voyages between Prince Rupert and Ketchikan added to AMHS schedule in Oct. and Nov.

Climate change, economy and reconciliation take centre stage at Oct. 15 All-Candidates Forum

Six of the eight candidates were in attendance at the Smithers event

LETTER: How do you like these NDP apples MLA Rice?

Prince Rupert District Teachers’ responds to MLA Jennifer Rice’s letter regarding union rally

HAMILTON: Something was wrong — really wrong, but there is hope

Hamilton shares a defining moment in his life for Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Scheer, Trudeau, Singh haggle over potential minority government outcome

If you believe the polls, it appears the Liberals and Conservatives are neck-and-neck

Anti-pipeline protestors clash with supporters at North Matters event in Smithers.

The event was organized by The North Matters (TNM) and billed as a non-political event

Canucks beat Stanley Cup champs 4-3 in a shootout

Leivo nets winner, Vancouver dumps St. Louis for fourth straight win

‘The more you test, the more you find’: Beef recalls a sign of success, experts say

Despite appearances, experts say a recent rise in major recalls is not a sign of food supply problems

ELECTION 2019: How would the major parties address Canada’s housing crisis?

Promises include speculation taxes, more affordable housing, and declaring housing a human right

Japanese buyer expands wood pellet contract with B.C.’s Pinnacle

Mitsui and Co. increases contract with Interior energy producer

ELECTION 2019: Have Justin Trudeau’s Liberals really cut middle-class taxes?

Conservative Andrew Scheer vows to cut bottom bracket, NDP’s Jagmeet Singh targets wealth tax

B.C. RCMP officer suing the force for malicious prosecution

Cpl. Tammy Hollingsworth cleared of wrongdoing after misconduct hearing

Talk to your kids about vaping, B.C.’s top doctor says

B.C. health officials have discovered the first vaping-related illness in the province

Most Read