Kaien Island Slo-Pitch hands out the hardware

The Kaien Island Slo Pitch League (KISL) held their year-end awards gala earlier in September.

The Kaien Island Slo Pitch League (KISL) held their year-end awards gala earlier in September and for another consecutive year, Frank’s Auto and the Coast Industrial Construction (CIC) Leftovers were at the top of the heap.

Winners of the “A” league playoffs, CIC also took home second-place in the “A” regular season, behind Frank’s, though the most valuable players (MVPs) came from a relatively new team on the rise. Kelly Jackson won female MVP and Devin Palmer grabbed male MVP – both from the SeaSport Sluggers.

During the “B” regular season, the CFA Brew Jays took first-overall and Rupert Wood ’N Steel claimed second. Regular season MVPs for the “B” division included Jamie Wessel from the Jays and Daniel Pagens from Wood ’N Steel.

During the playoffs, the league-winning Leftovers’ Krista Astoria had a season to remember as she brought home female “A” playoffs MVP with Frank’s Auto’s Trevor Girbav taking male MVP honours.

The “B” league-winning Honey Badgers featured two MVPs of their own, including Michelle Mintenko and Justin Adams.

Honey Badgers’ teammate Crystal Sawatzky and Leftovers’ Ross Vendittelli won most inspirational while the Northern Breeze’s Quinn Leighton took the Billie Jean Memorial Trophy for outstanding young player.

Sean Hutcheon from Rupert Cleaners took home the Steve Williams Memorial Trophy for dedication to the league with himself and the rest of the Rupert Cleaners winning Most Sportsmanlike Team.

The SeaSport Sluggers’ Les Palmer won Most Sportsmanlike Player and the winners of the mini-tournaments the KISL had throughout the year  included Frank’s Auto (for the ice-breaker), the CIC Leftovers (Patty Hutcheon Memorial mid-season tourney) and Ball’s Deep (for Seafest).