Carly Cochrane from the Prince Rupert Rain won the Women's Division Most Promising Player.

2016 ANBT awards wrap-up

A final summation of all awards presented from the 2016 All Native Basketball Tournament

The 57th All Native Basketball Tournament wrapped up in mid-February with the awards ceremony capping off the event.

Throughout the presentations, it was a mix of some repeat winners returning to the podium and some new athletes taking the prestigious titles.

In the Women’s Division, all-stars included Jasmine Reid and Viva Brown from Bella Bella, Taylor Wale and Brittany Simpson from Hazelton, Denise Wilson and Judy Carlick-Pearson from Metlakatla, BC, Kayla Vickers and Connie Johnson from New Aiyansh, Cary Lynn Cochrane-Stevens from Prince Rupert and Jade Montgomery from Vancouver.

The women’s Best Defensive Player went to Hazelton’s Brittany Simpson and the Sixth Woman Award went to Hazelton’s Kylie Johnson. The most promising player was Carly Cochrane from the Prince Rupert Rain.

The most outstanding player was Hazelton’s Tamara Stoney and Stoney won Most Inspirational Player as well.

The Miss Hustle award went to the Rain’s Cary-Lynn Cochrane-Stevens. The Women’s Division MVP went to Shayla Schooner for the second year in a row and the most sportsmanlike team was Hazelton. The Women’s High Scorer award went to Hazelton’s Tamara Stoney.

The Masters’ Division all-stars included Tony Peele and Joe Young from Hydaburg, Abe Brown and Richard Smith from Old Massett. Mike Reid and Daryl Humchitt from Bella Bella, George Kelly and Mike Wesley from Lax Kw’alaams, Tony Stevens from Greenville and Will Sheppard from Prince Rupert. Best Defensive Player went to Mike Reid from Bella Bella and the Sixth Man award went to Tony Peele from Hydaburg. The Most Outstanding Player was George Kelly from Lax Kw’alaams, Old Massett’s David Hill won Mr. Hustle, and the Most Inspirational Player award went to Trevor Russ from Old Massett.

The Most Sportsmanlike Team was Bella Bella, the High Scorer Award went to George Kelly from Lax Kw’alaams and the Masters’ MVP was Devin Edenshaw from Hydaburg.

Seniors’ Division all-stars included Jason Alsop and Duane Alsop from Skidegate, Charlie Leeson and Phillip Gamble from Kitkatla, Brandon Sampson and Vern Alexcee from Lax Kw’alaams, Chris Campbell and Mike Russ from Massett, Kyle Cline from Vancouver and Jessel Housty from Bella Bella.

Best Defensive Player went to Charlie Leeson from Kitkatla, the Sixth Man award went to Joe Lewis from Kitkatla and the Mr. Hustle award went to Rod Lawson from Lax Kw’alaams.

The Most Outstanding Player was Jacob Thom from Kitkatla and the Most Inspirational Player was Darcy Pearson from Skidegate. Seniors’ Division MVP went to Tyler York from Skidegate and the Most Sportsmanlike Team was Lax Kw’alaams. The High Scorer award went to Thom.

From the Intermediate Division, Metlakatla, AK’s Darin James won Most Promising Player. The Best Defender was John Tait from Port Simpson and Tait also won Most Outstanding Player. The Most Inspirational Player was Graylon Martin from Bella Bella, the High Scorer Award went to Jordan Gladstone from Bella Bella and the Most Sportsmanlike Team was  Metlakatla, AK.

The Mr. Hustle Award went to John Sampson from Port Simpson, and the Intermediate Division MVP went to Jakob Henry from Port Simpson.

Intermediate all-stars to come.


Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Comments are closed

Just Posted

Local restaurant, Fukasaku, awarded $10,000 grant

More than 1100 Canadian business applied for the relief grant

QUIZ: Put your knowledge of Canada to the test

How much do you know about our country?

AGM takes centre stage

Lester Centre presented annual reports on June 24

Evictions to resume

Landlords with existing orders can file for enforcement on July 2nd

Province supports emergency preparedness in communities

It’s not ‘if’ an emergency will happen but ‘when’

‘This year is unlike any other’: Trudeau delivers Canada day address

Sophie Gregoire Trudeau and the Prime Minister release video celebrating the national holiday

Canadian engineer detained in Egypt released, needs treatment, family says

Yasser Albaz was detained at the Cairo airport after a business trip in February of 2019

RCMP arrest armed man on grounds near Trudeau residence

Officers descended on the sprawling estate Thursday morning.

Canada Day tractor incident kills three children, injures seven in Quebec

The tractor driver has been arrested following the accident

Undercover operation exposes prominent human trafficking problem in Greater Victoria

VicPD’s Operation No More took place in mid-June at a local hotel

Tsilhqot’in Nation demands meeting with feds on declining Fraser River chinook stocks

The Nation wants to partner with DFO to rebuild and recover the stocks

PHOTOS: Dual rallies take over Legislature lawn on Canada Day

Resist Canada 153 highlighted colonization and genocide, Unify the People called COVID a hoax

Gov. General honours Canadians for bravery, volunteer service

Five categories of winners presented on Canada Day

COVID-19: Should non-medical masks be mandatory in Canada?

New poll shows Canadians are divided on the rules around mandatory masks

Most Read