Prince Rupert votes: Brain elected Mayor of Prince Rupert

Prince Rupert mayor elect Lee Brain says he is excited about the future, leading a council of three incumbents and three new faces.

Prince Rupert mayor elect Lee Brain says he is excited about the future as new mayor leading a council that includes three incumbents and three new faces.

Brain collected 2,495 votes with incumbent Jack Mussallem second with 890 votes. Tony Briglio finished with 474 votes and Sheila Gordon-Payne finished with 411 votes, giving Brain 58 per cent of the popular vote.

Brain said that margin of victory took him by surprise, but he said he is more than ready to take on the role of mayor.

“I worked really hard, my team worked really hard and I think we ran a really high level campaign. We wanted to show the community that this is the type of leadership our generation has and that we are prepared to take over leadership of our community,” he said, pointing as well to three new faces on council.

“I think people want to see change in Prince Rupert and the overwhelmingly voted for that. Now it is time to roll our sleeves up and get to work for this community because we have some big challenges. I am ready to get to work on that on Monday morning.”

Elected councillors include Blair Mirau, who received the most votes with 2,915, incumbent Barry Cunningham who received 2,897, Wade Niesh who receives 2,119, Gurvinder Randhawa who received 2,053, Joy Thorkelson with 2,044 votes and Nelson Kinney with 1,995. The results leave incumbents Anna Ashley and Gina Garon and challenger Ray Pedersen without a seat on council.

Brain said he is looking forward to working with the mix of new and experienced faced on council.

“I think it’s perfect, I think it’s exactly what Prince Rupert needs. There is a lot to be said about experience, but at the same time the community realizes experience doesn’t always translate into leadership,” he said.

“I have nothing but respect for my opponents, they all did their service for the community, but now the community wants something new. I think this council is going to really come together and there is going to be a lot of energy … I’m really excited about the future.”


School District 52 election results

There will be two new faces around the table of the Prince Rupert School District. Board of Education.

James Horne and Judy Carlick-Pearson will join incumbents Tina Last, Bart Kuntz, Louisa Sanchez and Terri-Lynne Huddlestone following the Nov. 15 election. The elected officials will be joined by incumbent rural representative Janet Beil, who was acclaimed to her seat.

The top vote-getters in the 2014 election were incumbents Last and Kuntz, who received 2,337 votes and 2,153 votes respectively. Horne placed third in the popular vote, receiving 1,941 votes, followed by Sanchez with 1,735 and Huddlestone with 1,430. Carlick-Pearson rounded out the Top Six with 1,408 votes, well ahead of seventh place finisher Kimberly Williams who received 1,233 votes.

Not returning to the board are Barb Gruber, who chose not to seek re-election, and Marty Bowles, who stepped down from the board earlier in his term.

Just Posted

Kurka keeps thing official

The longtime hockey referee has been on the ice in Prince Rupert for more than 30 years

Rampaging toward the playoffs

The Prince Rupert Rampage beat the Terrace River Kings 8-5 on Jan. 20

Sweet tradition returns: Sugar Shack 2018

The 2018 Sugar Shack festival celebrates Francophone culture in Prince Rupert Jan. 24-27

Joie de vivre

Finding those “awe” moments with family, friends and food

Christians unite for one service in Rupert

Father Terry Brock is hoping to unite all of Prince Rupert’s Christians under one roof for one night

VIDEO: New whale rescue equipment comes to Rupert

Fisheries officers took to the water to practice saving stranded whales

Carriers wanted for the Northern View

We have open routes for carriers all over Prince Rupert

Complaint against Prince George RCMP in death of Wet’suwet’en man

Thirty-five year old Dale Culver died while in Prince George RCMP custody last summer.

Philadelphia Eagles headed to Super Bowl

After routing the Minnesota Vikings 38-7, they will face Tom Brady and the New England Patriots

Heavy snowfall closes Mount Washington on Vancouver Island

Road to ski resort deemed unsafe, vehicles buried under more than three feet of snow

VIDEO: Dramatic video shows return of rescued B.C. snowboarders

Two snowboarders were rescued near Rossland, B.C. on Sunday after being lost overnight.

Tom Brady leads Patriots back to Super Bowl, top Jaguars 24-20

New England to face winner of Sunday night’s game between Minnesota and Philadelphia on Feb. 4

Liberals quietly tap experts to write new paternity leave rules

Ideas include creating an entirely new leave benefit similar to one that exists in Quebec

Insurers say Canadian weather getting hotter, wetter and weirder

Average number of days with heavy rain or snow across Canada has been outside norm since spring 2013

Most Read