Skip to content

Port Edward and North Coast Regional District electoral candidates

Acclimations may be forthcoming for some positions
The municipal elections will be held on Oct. 15. (Black Press Media)

Updated, Sept. 26, 2022:

The below story has been updated to reflect changes.

According to the BC Municipal Elections website on Sept. 26, Port Edward District Council nominee Teresa Forster’s name has been removed from the Port Edward municipal ballot.

Current Port Edward councillor and electoral nominee Christine Mckenzie’s appeared incorrect in the Sept. 22 print edition. The below story has been amended to reflect correct. We apologize for this error.


The electoral candidates for District of Port Edward were announced on Sept. 9, by Lorraine Page, election officer for the municipality.

There are three candidates for the one position office of mayor which are incumbent Knut Bjorndal who won the last election in 2018 with new to the list of nominees are Shawn Pettit and Carl Schmidt.

To fill the municipal districts four councillor positions, are six candidates.

Current councillors James Brown, Danial Franzen, and Christine Mckenzie have filed paperwork to run again. New on the ballot sheet are Colleen McDonald, Kevin Mudge, and Teresa Forster.

Forster has also thrown her hat in the ring as a candidate on the Prince Rupert ballot for a city council position.

The North Coast Regional District has four elected positions available, however, just three candidates submitted paperwork with Karl J Bergman for Oona River (Electoral Area C), Johanne Young Rural for Graham Island (Area D), and Evan Putterill for Moresby Island (Area E). Candidates may be acclaimed into these positions. The Northern View has reached out to NCRD for comment but at the time of publication had not been responded to.

All electoral candidates have until Sept. 16 to withdraw any candidacy applications.