Skip to content

Voting open for 2024 Prince Rupert Business Excellence Awards

It’s the first time the event will be held since 2020

After a three-year hiatus, voting is now open for the 2024 Prince Rupert Chamber of Commerce Business Excellence Awards (BEA).

The last time the Chamber held the event was in 2020, just before the COVID-19 pandemic hit.

Voting is open to the public and just requires an email address to register. Voting closes March 30.

The 60 nominees in 12 categories will be celebrated and the winners announced at a black-tie gala April 6 at the Lester Centre.

“This year’s gala is set to be more glamorous than ever, as we introduce a formal dress code for a red carpet event, ensuring an evening of elegance and festivity,” said Chamber executive director Roman Brochu in an email to Chamber members.

The evening begins with a cocktail reception at 6:30 with the awards ceremony following at 7:30.

“The BEA Gala is not only a celebration of success but also an unparalleled opportunity for networking and recognition among peers,” Brochu said.

The 12 categories are:

Dining Distinction: open to restaurants, pubs, caterers, food trucks and other food or beverage service businesses. Nominees: Sugar Free Shop & Café; Arabisk Mediterranean; Fukasaku; Sukoshi Kitchen; Opa Sushi.

Community Involvement: recognizes a business or organization that voluntarily engages in activities that enhance the community’s quality of life. Nominees: Northern Savings Credit Union; Good Times Games; Trigon Terminals; Friendship House Association; Prince Rupert Rampage.

Indigenous Peoples Entrepreneurship: open to well-respected role models and leaders operating a business with 51 per cent or greater Indigenous ownership who demonstrates initiative and risk to achieve business success. Nominees: Yvonne Campbell (Genetics Fitness); Vern Barker (Empire Tree); Frazier Ignas (Northern Sons Excavating); Amy Dopson (PAC10 Tutoring); James Russel (Oots’n Reconnection Services).

Home-based Business Excellence: open to licensed businesses operating for at least two years from a residence. Nominees: Mae & Filhas Baked Donuts; The Cook-A-Roux; Sourdough YPR; Chucky’s Bike Shop; Hashmark Photography and Film.

Individual Customer Service Excellence: recognizes and individual staff member who, through exemplary service attracts repeat clients and enhances a business’s reputation. Nominees: Valerie Timms (Vintage Island Properties & Port City Spirits); Tina Chan (Chances); Sanj Sharma (Eddie’s News); Rob Gruber (Good Times Games); Julian Berchtold (Yaga Café).

Industry & Manufacturing Excellence: open to two-year-plus businesses in the ndustry, manufacturing, or transportation sectors. Nominees: Sullivan Mechanical; Trigon Terminals; Lighten Up Electric; Storey’s Excavation; Harbour Machining.

Professional Excellence: open to service providers whose work is governed by the technical or ethical standards of a professional association (doctors, dentists, engineers, accountants, etc.). Nominees: Dr. J Francois Erasmus; Dr. Taylor Seier; Aaron Sha (pharmacist at Shoppers); Kerstin Swanson (occupational therapist); Bob Hayes (pharmacist at Safeway).

Not For Profit of the Year: open to volunteer, community, or charitable organization with an established track record and a positive standing of honesty and integrity within the community. Nominees: Prince Rupert Seniors Centre Association; Ts’msyen Prosperity Society; Trinity House; Pawz United Rescue Society (PURS); Kaien Trails Society.

Rookie Business of the Year: open to businesses under two years old that have demonstrated exceptional promise and continued growth. Nominees: Hermit House Antiques; Arabisk Mediterranean Cuisine; Saltwater Bakery; Doggy Hotel and Spa; Ethos Refillery.

Retail Excellence: open to local retail businesses. Nominees: Ansen’s Consignment; Good Times Games; Mission Health; Eddie’s News; Leblanc Boutique.

Young Entrepreneur of the Year: open to entrepreneurs under the age of 40 who excel in business. Nominees: Ansen Norgaard (Ansen’s Consignment); Obaida and Tamim Zailouni (Arabisk); Blair Mirau (Gitmaxmak’ay Nisga’a Society); Meaghan Brooke (Sugar Free Shop); Launy Lan (On the Spotless).

Tourism and Accommodation Excellence: open to businesses and organizations in the tourism and accommodations sectors. Nominees: North Coast Ecology Society; Adventure Tours; Olde Time Trolley Company; The Highliner Hotel & Conference Centre; Skeena Kayaking.

OTHER NEWS: ‘I’m frustrated too’: Minister of Health on Prince Rupert ER closures

Thom Barker

About the Author: Thom Barker

After graduating with a geology degree from Carleton University and taking a detour through the high tech business, Thom started his journalism career as a fact-checker for a magazine in Ottawa in 2002.
Read more