Skip to content

Former Prince Rupert mayor Lee Brain appointed to PRPA board of directors

Hilary Cassady also named to port’s board by Minister of Transport
Former mayor of Prince Rupert Lee Brain will begin his new role as on the Prince Rupert Port Authority’s board of directors on May 1. Hilary Cassady was also named a new member of the board in an April 8 announcement. (The Northern View file photo)

Two familiar faces will join the board of directors at the Prince Rupert Port Authority after an April 8 announcement.

Former Prince Rupert mayor Lee Brain and Hilary Cassady, a Professional Chartered Accountant, were appointed to the this week.

Cassady was appointed by federal Minister of Transport Pablo Rodriguez, while Brain was brought on by the City of Prince Rupert and the District of Port Edward. Three of the seven seats on the board are appointed by the provincial, federal and municipal governments.

“On behalf of our staff, I congratulate and welcome Hilary and Lee,” said Shaun Stevenson, president and CEO of the Prince Rupert Port Authority.

“Both were born and raised in Prince Rupert, and each bring unique experience and skills to PRPA’s Board of Directors as we continue to activate the port’s ambitious growth plan to strengthen its role as an economic engine for the community, region, and all of Canada.”

Cassady has a well-travelled corporate career, having served in numerous senior roles at Danone in Asia and Europe, along with Canadian companies Bentall Kennedy and QuadReal Property Group.

Brain was mayor of Prince Rupert for two terms, serving from 2014 to 2022. He is taking over from John Farrell, general manager of Community Futures Prince Rupert, who was appointed by the two municipalities in March 2015.

“We extend our gratitude to John for his commitment to the board of directors, particularly during a period of unprecedented development and growth at the Port of Prince Rupert,” said Stevenson.

Brain’s first day as a director will be May 1, while Cassady began her new role on March 25. Directors at the PRPA serve three-year terms, and can serve a maximum of three terms.

READ MORE: City outlines long-term infrastructure plan at town Hall

About the Author: Seth Forward, Local Journalism Initiative

Read more